The zodiac is a belt within about 8 degrees on either side of the ecliptic — a circle that defines the apparent path of the sun among the constellations over the period of a year — that is divided into 12 equal signs: Aries, Taurus, Gemini, Cancer, Leo, Virgo, Libra, Scorpio, Sagittarius, Capricorn, Aquarius, and Pisces. Planets and luminaries travel across this belt, spending time in each of the signs, which is why we'll say something like, "The moon is in Libra today" or "Mars was in Capricorn when I was born." The passage of the Sun through the zodiac is a cycle that was used by ancient cultures to determine the time of year. Most of the planets in the solar system have orbits that take them near the ecliptic plane, within about 8 degrees above or below Each of the 12 signs has its own unique traits, desires, M.O. if you will. They're organised into four elements: fire, earth, air, and water. Aries (March 21 – April 19) Taurus (April 20 – May 20) Gemini (May 21 – June 20) Cancer (June 21 – July 22) Leo (July 23 – August 22) Virgo (August 23 – September 22) Libra (September 23 – October 22) Scorpio (October 23 – November 21) Sagittarius (November 22 – December 21) Capricorn (December 22 – January 19) Aquarius (January 20 – February 18) Pisces (February 19 – March 20)